Each building of the Municipal complex has been assigned a number.
The dominant six-story building of the plaza – City Hall:
The Mayor’s office
The city council hall
A model of old/new Jerusalem
An observation point extending from the sixth floor offers a breathtaking view of Jerusalem’s neighborhoods
On the first floor, resident services
Built in 1860 as part of the Russian compound and used today for Municipal offices.
Known as the Zoology Building today because it was indeed the Zoology Department of the Hebrew University when university departments were scattered throughout the city.
Building 5 and 6
Known as the Bergheim and Darouti Buildings. Peter Melville Bergheim was a German Jew who converted to Christianity and established the first bank in Jerusalem. During the British Mandate, the residence became the rear wing of the Darouti Hotel, named after a Christian Arab.
Known as the Bagel Building. During the 1960’s, a bagel maker worked from these premises – to bake bagels and sell them.
Built by the British and Foreign Bible Society in 1926. The first elevator in Jerusalem was installed in this multi-story building.
The original “City Hall”, designed by well-known British architect, Clifford Holiday, and inaugurated by the British administration in 1932. In 1996, the main services were transferred to Building #1. Currently houses the Municipal departments of: public health, sports, and culture. Engraved on the cornerstone are the words: “Municipal Offices.”
Armenian Buildings, built by the Armenian Patriarch at the beginning of the 20th century, on Jaffa Road, #17 and #19, which are currently leased to the Municipality.
Originally known as the Russian Hospital Building. In 1948, the building was used for wounded Israeli troups and became known as Avi-Hayil (father of the soldiers). Today it houses Municipal offices.
The Triangular Garden: Outside Buildings #3 and #4